117th Congress

It’s a Wrap!

The American Horse Council (AHC) is pleased to release its final legislative scorecard for the 117th Congress which ended on January 3, 2023.

The AHC scorecard helps members evaluate how their interests were protected and advanced by federal lawmakers. AHC reviewed each Member of Congress on their actions in support of our legislative priorities to include tax policy, small business concerns, COVID recovery, horse welfare, labor shortages, recreational opportunities, and more. The main criteria are sponsorship and co-sponsorship of legislation. Other factors considered include:

  • Membership in the AHC Horse Caucus
  • Behind-the-scenes work to advance AHC priority issues
  • Accessibility of the member and staff in Washington DC to AHC staff, Trustees, and members

Julie Broadway, President of the American Horse Council, said the scorecard is a valuable tool for understanding congressional support for the equine industry. “We evaluate a legislator’s record by assigning points to sponsorship and co-sponsorship of bills. We think this is a fair and bi-partisan process because so many proposals do not move out of committee for a floor vote.”

“We thank those Members of Congress who have proven their awareness and commitment to critical issues impacting AHC. There is growing recognition the equine sector is significant to the overall health of the U.S. economy,” observed Broadway. “AHC is optimistic we can renew these commitments to our industry with the 118th Congress. We’ll be introducing AHC to the new Members of Congress and intend to build on our profile with the data from the upcoming Equine Economic Impact Study. We are excited the study will be published by Fall of 2023 to provide Congress an even greater understanding of our membership and activities.”

Industry Champions for the 117th Congress

U. S. House of Representatives

Representative Andy Barr (R-KY-6)
Representative Ted Budd (R-NC-13)*
Representative Henry Cuellar (D-TX-28)
Representative Andrew Garbarino (R-NY-2
Representative Andy Harris (R-MD-1)
Representative Jaime Herrera Beutler (R-WA-3)**
Representative Ashley Hinson (R-IA-1)
Representative Richard Hudson (R-NC-8)
Representative Mike Kelly (R-PA 16)
Representative Jackie Walorski (R-IN-2)***

*Elected to Senate
**Lost primary

United States Senate

Senator John Barrasso (R-WY)
Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV)
Senator Susan Collins (R-ME)
Senator Michael Crapo (R-ID)
Senator Steve Daines (R-MT)
Senator Jerry Moran (R-KS)
Senator Mike Rounds (R-SD)
Senator Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ)
Senator Roger Wicker (R-MS)
Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR)

Information on the Scorecard can be found here. Please contact info@horsecouncil.org if you have questions or comments.